Baylor College of Medicine Logo

Ashok Balasubramanyam M.D.

Ashok Balasubramanyam, M.D.


Department of Medicine - Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism

Baylor College of Medicine

Vice President for Academic Integration

Baylor College of Medicine

Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Baylor College of Medicine

Ashok Balasubramanyam, M.D., is the Vice President for Academic Integration and Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at Baylor College of Medicine (BCM) in Houston, Texas. He is also a Professor of Medicine and Molecular and Cellular Biology. In this role, he works closely with department chairs at BCM, as well as with executive leadership at Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center and Catholic Health Initiatives in Houston, Texas. Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center is part of the CHI St. Luke’s Health system, which includes clinical locations throughout Houston and East Texas.

Dr. Balasubramanyam’s faculty appointment in medicine is in the section of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism. He served for many years as the director of the Endocrine Fellowship Program at BCM and currently directs the BCM Clinical Scientist Training Program.

He has been a member of the BCM faculty since 1994 and has served in education roles for the School of Medicine and Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. He is an NIH-funded translational researcher within the Diabetes Research Center and is Chief of the Endocrine Service at Ben Taub Hospital in Houston, Texas.

He received his bachelor’s degree from Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut, and his medical degree from St. John’s Medical College in Bangalore, India. He was a resident and chief resident in internal medicine at BCM, after which, he completed a fellowship and post-doctoral fellowship at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts.

View Full Biography